One Try (EP Teaser Track)

by Maylight



One Try is a demo /promo track from Maylight's forthcoming self titled EP. Maylight is a seven musician strong collective comprising vocalist Lizzy Parks (Tru Thoughts), saxophonist Mary Wakelam (BBC Performing Arts Fund Urban Music Scheme 2008 Winner) pianist Rob Barron (Nostalgia 77 / Damon Albarn's 'Monkey' opera), drummer Jim Bashford (Jim Bashford trio), trumpet player Joe Egan (Aida Severo), bass player Colin Somervell (Trio Tekke / Pippo's Progress) and DJ/producer Chris Read (Music of Substance / BBE). Adopting a collective approach to writing music which draws on the members' diverse backgrounds and musical influences, the resulting mix is one which references soul, electronica and more with an underlying jazz influence.


released September 1, 2011



all rights reserved


Chris Read (Music Of Substance) London, UK

London UK: DJ, Producer. Recording artist for BBE Records and Breakin' Bread Records. Currently producing Maylight, an award winning 7 piece fusing soul, electronica & jazz featuring Lizzy Parks (Tru Thoughts) and Rob Barron (Jay Electronica) amongst others. ... more

contact / help

Contact Chris Read (Music Of Substance)

Streaming and
Download help